add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
The United Nations fight for freedom
The United Nations fight for freedom
Resource Typeimage
TitleThe United Nations fight for freedom
Coverage / Year1942
DescriptionPoster, color, 27.9 x 21.9 in., published by the United States Government Printing Office
InterpretationOn January 1, 1942 the "Declaration of the United Nations" was signed by the following countries: United States of America, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, China, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, South Africa, and Yugoslavia. Each of these governments pledged their full military and/or economic resources toward the goal of complete victory over the enemy, in this case the Axis powers (Germany, Japan and Italy). They pledged to cooperate with each other to accomplish this goal and not to make any separate armistices or peace agreements with the enemies.
Lesson Plans / ThemesWorld War II
Learning Standards16 History; 14 Political systems
Author or CreatorUnited States. Office of War Information;
Other ContributorsBroder, S. [artist]
Subject / KeywordsWorld War II; War posters, American; Allied Powers (1919-); United Nations
Collection PublisherIllinois State Library
Further InformationFor any further information related to this record, please contact the Collection Publisher. See for more information about this project.
Rights Management Statement
Resource Identifierww20173p
CONTENTdm file name5783721842002_ww20173p.jpg
powered by CONTENTdm ® | University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign Homepage ^ to top ^